Sedona AZ

The Chapel in Red Rock at Sedona, AZ

Sedona, AZ is one of the most beautiful places here in our country. The Red Rock is all around. There are many famous rocks in this place. Bell Rock, Snoopy Rock, Two Sisters Rock and the Chapel in the Rock just to name a few. All are red. This is known as Red Rock Country. 

While there in 2001 I took the tour of all the famous Red Rocks and on the tour it was explained how the rocks became Red. They are rocks with Iron in them and the weather makes them rust. The red is the rust  from the iron in the rocks.

God touched these rocks with iron so they could become beautiful for all of us to enjoy.

The Chapel itself is very beautiful. It was built in the 1950’s. Completted in 1956. Though it is Catholic in faith, as a work of art the chapel has appeal to all religions and is open to every faith. It is called the Chapel of The Holy Cross. But it is known as the Red Rock Chapel. Many people renew their vows to each other in this chapel. There are no services held in the church but it is open every day from 9AM to 5PM sp that everyone can enjoy the peacefulness it holds for all time.

Standing outside at the bottom looking up at it makes one think it was placed there by someone. I never thought about all the planning, architects, workers, and time it took to make this beautiful structure. As I walked towards it and up the hill to it I was always looking towards it. I tried to not look away from it because of its beauty.

Inside was another story all together. It had a feeling of spirituality, calmness, and peace. I sat and felt peace all around me. It was like being in another world. Stepping outside after sitting for a few minutes it was truly like going into a whirlwind of noise and people. Inside was quiet and calm outside, sunshine, blue skies, light wind and people all talking and making noise.

If you ever get to Sedona AZ be sure to go to the Red Rock Chapel and go inside and sit for just a few minutes. It will give you a sense of peace and hopefully like it did for me a reason to go on living the good life of helping others find peace.

The trip in 2001 was truly one of the highlights of my life. I got to see four beautiful states. I took over 6000 photos of beautiful country and fell in love with the mid west. I want to go back and see it again and this time take my most wonderful husband so he can see the colors with his own eyes not just through my photography.

About Mary L Marion

Writer, Photographer, Provider, Advisor, Student
This entry was posted in Photography and Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment